No thank you & Yes please?

Gut feeling funny!

Gut feeling funny!

I’m reading this really great book at the moment called The Fire Starter Sessions by Danielle Laporte. It’s a business/personal development book and possibly the first one I’ve read of this style and I am loving it! You may know I’m at a bit of a cross roads at the moment with feelings of ‘where to next’. What drew me to this book was this sentence – ‘Life balance is a myth and the pursuit of it is causing us more stress than the craving for balance ourselves’. What do you mean it’s a myth? this is what I have been working towards – and you’re implying this is as good as it gets! [insert shock horror emoticon here]. It made the purchase easy, I needed to know more.

Introducing chapter 9.  No, thank you. Yes please.

Every chapter of this book has got me thinking, but I know when a chapter is particularly good when I want to tell people about it. Chapter 9 explores us ‘yes people’ even when we aren’t 100% convinced it’s what we want to do. Danielle uses a scenario of an architect who has just finished building a shopping mall. The real estate developer was wrapped with the project and visited the architect’s home for a evening dinner. Once he arrived he was taken aback by the design of his home – awestruck. Drawing comparisons to the recent shopping mall design the real estate developer questioned the architect’s love for its design. He confessed that he didn’t love it but designed it because it was work and he needed to make a living. The real estate developer asked the architect on this very night to stop doing the kind of work he didn’t like. He agreed.

Enter the euphoria of admitting when it sucks – leading on from this story the chapter talks about our sense of duty blinding us to the clues of doom and the power of owning up when it’s not working. I have to admit I have never been one to put my hand up for something I genuinely know I can’t do, but I have been guilty of stretching myself, resulting in panic mode kicking in.

Taking this and the initial story into consideration, consider this – why is that we feel so inclined to give an explanation as to why we want or don’t want to do something? “I don’t want to do it anymore, I’m going to….. or what will I do without it….or even it’s a great opportunity’. This is a sign of realisation creep where we have to rationalise our decision.

How about this for rationalisationit just doesn’t feel right. Boom! I almost fist pumped the air when I read this. Then, when you thought it couldn’t get any better – ‘when you justify how you feel, you are depressing the stamina and the power of your essential self, creating excuses for your truth. Your’e abandoning yourself.’

We have all heard the saying ‘go with your gut’, but how many times do we actually follow it? This is good enough reason for me to follow mine a little more. What about you?

 

One thought on “No thank you & Yes please?

  1. Pingback: Things I’m loving right now | Kate Payne

Leave a Reply

